BULGARIA (Republic of)

Member State of the European Union (EU)

Signed April 25, 2002

Film & Television

Minimum Participation
Bipartite: 20%
Multipartite: 10% with state members of the European Union or the Council of Europe

French or English dubbing or subtitling must be done in one of the two coproducing countries.

Article VII 2:  “The dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into French and English, or into Bulgarian shall be carried out respectively in Canada or in Bulgaria. Any departures from this principle must be approved by the competent authorities of both countries.”

Location shooting, exterior or interior, in a third-party country, if the script or action so requires and if technicians from the coproducing countries take part in the shooting.

Lab work in a third-party country if technically impossible in the coproducing countries, and subject to the approval of the competent authorities.

Participation of third-party performers, should the coproduction so require, subject to approval by the competent authorities.

Official text of the Canada-Bulgaria Treaty (63 KB)