Member State of the European Union (EU)

Treaty with the former Czechoslovakia is in effect:
Signed March 25, 1987

Film & Television

Minimum Participation
Bipartite: 20%
Multipartite: 20%
At least three technicians, one leading performer and two supporting performers.

French or English dubbing or subtitling must be done in Canada.

Article VIII:  “Dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into English or French shall be carried out in Canada. Dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into Czech or Slovak shall be carried out in Czechoslovakia.”

Departures from minimum staffing requirements may be approved by the competent authorities of both countries.

Location shooting in a third-party country if the script or action so requires and if technicians from Canada and the Czech Republic take part in the shooting.

Participation of one third-party country performer may be permitted, subject to the approval of the competent authorities.

Official text of the Canada-Czechoslovakia Treaty (20 K)