ICELAND (Republic of)

Member State of European Economic Area (EEA)

Signed October 15, 1997
Revised March 28, 2003

Film & Television

Minimum Participation
Bipartite: 20%
Multipartite: 20% for Canada, 10% for European Union and/or Council of Europe

French or English dubbing or subtitling must be done in one of the two coproducing countries.

Article 7: “The dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into French and English, or into Icelandic shall be carried out respectively in Canada or in Iceland. Any departures from this principle must be approved by the competent authorities of both countries.”

Location shooting, exterior or interior, in a third-party country, if the script or action so requires and if technicians from the coproducing countries take part in the shooting.

Participation of third-party performers, should the co-production so require, subject to approval by the competent authorities.

Lab work in a third-party country if technically impossible in the coproducing countries, and subject to the approval of the competent authorities..

Official text of the Canada-Iceland Treaty (25 K)

Amendment to the official text – Canada-Iceland Treaty (9 k)