LATVIA (Republic of)

Member State of the European Union (EU)

Signed October 15, 2003

Film & Television

Minimum Participation
Bipartite: 20%
Multipartite: 20%

French or English dubbing or subtitling must be done in one of the two coproducing countries.

Article VII: “The dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into French and English, or into Latvian shall be carried out respectively in Canada or in Latvia.  Any departures from this principle must be approved by the competent authorities of both countries.”

Location shooting, exterior or interior, in a third-party country, if the script or action so requires and if technicians from the coproducing countries take part in the shooting.

Laboratory work shall be done in either Canada or Latvia unless it is technically impossible to do so, in which case the laboratory work in a country not participating in the coproduction may be authorized by the competent authorities of both countries.

Participation of third-party country performers, should the coproduction so require, subject to approval by the competent authorities.

Official text of the Canada-Latvia Treaty (25 K)