Member State of the European Union (EU)

Signed January 23, 1992
Entered into force September 11, 2007

Film & Television

Minimum Participation
Bipartite: 20%
Tripartite: 20%

French or English dubbing or subtitling must be done in Canada

Article VII: “The dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into French and English, or into Romanian shall be carried out respectively in Canada or Romania. Any departures from this principle must be approved by the competent authorities of both countries.”

Location shooting, exterior or interior, in a third-party country, if the script or action so requires and if technicians from the coproducing countries take part in the shooting.

Lab work in a third-party country if technically impossible in the coproducing countries, and subject to the approval of the competent authorities.

Participation of third-party country performers, should the coproduction so require, subject to approval by the competent authorities.

Official text of the Canada-Romania Treaty (22 K)

Amendment to the official text – Canada-Romania Treaty (47 K)