Member State of the European Union (EU)

Signed October 17, 1994

Film & Television

Minimum Participation
Bipartite: 20%
Multipartite: 20%

French or English dubbing or subtitling must be done in Canada.

Article VIII: “The dubbing or subtitling of each co-production into French or English shall be carried out in Canada. The dubbing or subtitling of each co-production in Swedish shall be carried out in Sweden. Any departures herefrom must be approved by the competent authorities of both countries.”

Location shooting, exterior or interior, in a third-party country, if the script or action so requires and if technicians from the coproducing countries take part in the shooting.

Lab work in a third-party country if technically impossible in the coproducing countries.

Participation of third-party country performers, should the coproduction so require, subject to approval by the competent authorities.

Official text of the Canada-Sweden Treaty (20 K)