Skip Navigation Links

Public Funding, Credits and Certification

Canada offers several incentives when a film is shot within its borders. Some are regulated federally while others are regulated by province-specific bodies.   

Key office federal government

Canadian Audio-Visual Certification Office

CAVCO works with the Canada Revenue Agency to administer two federal tax credits: the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit program and the Film or Video Production Services Tax Credit program.

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

The CRTC is the administrative tribunal that governs Canadian communication systems. They offer resources to help with the funding and creation of Canadian content.

Cultural institutions

The Canada Council for the Arts 

Canadian Film Centre

Canada Media Fund 

Film or Video Production Services Tax Credit (PSTC)

Funding agencies 

The specificities of the tax credits offered in Canada are regulated by province-specific bodies. 

Alberta Screen-Based Production Grant

Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit (CPTC)

Film Incentive BC 

Manitoba Film and Video Production Tax Credit 

New Brunswick’s Labour Incentive Film Tax Credit 

Newfoundland and Labrador Film and Video Industry Tax Credit 

Nova Scotia Film & Television Production Incentive Fund 

Ontario Computer Animation and Special Effects (OCASE) Tax Credit 

Ontario Media Development Corporation

Prince Edward Island Film & Television Office 

Quebec Dubbing Tax Credit

Quebec Film and Television Production Tax Credit 

Quebec Production Services Tax Credit 

Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC)

Yukon Film Incentive Program