Milestones in Telefilm Canada’s History

The Government of Canada allocates $10 million to the newly created Canadian Film Development Corporation (CFDC) to support the Canadian feature film industry.

The Corporation opens offices in Montreal and Toronto.

Michael Spencer is named first executive director.

The government allocates an additional $10 million to the corporation.

The CFDC budget increases by another $5 million to reach $25 million, and the decision is made to finance the CFDC with an annual parliamentary appropriation.

The government raises the CFDC budget by $5 million.

Creation of the Canadian Broadcast Program Development Fund, aimed at revitalizing Canadian television. At the time, 85% of all programs aired in prime time by Canadian broadcasters are imported from other countries.

Under executive André Lamy, CFDC is renamed Telefilm Canada to better reflect the full range of its activities in film and television. Offices are opened in Vancouver and Halifax.

Creation of the Feature Film Fund, aimed at supporting works by Canadian filmmakers. This fund is to play a decisive role in the growth of Canadian cinema.

Creation of the Feature Film Distribution Fund, which makes credit lines available to Canadian distributors to ensure the widest possible distribution of Canadian films in the various markets.

Under executive director François Macerola, the Canadian government announces the creation of the Canada Television and Cable Production Fund (now called the Canadian Television Fund), a private-public partnership between the Government of Canada and the cable and satellite TV industry. Telefilm administers the Equity Investment component of the Fund.

A five-year, $30-million multimedia fund is created. The Multimedia Fund aims to support creativity in the digital age, and enable the Canadian industry to compete effectively in the new technologies arena.

The new Canadian Feature Film Policy, entitled From Script to Screen, is implemented. The new Canada Feature Film Fund managed by Telefilm Canada is a key component of this policy. The CFFF begins operations on April 1, 2001, with an annual budget of $100 million. Four objectives are established, most notably building larger Canadian and international audiences through improved distribution and marketing.

Telefilm Canada announces the guidelines for the Canada New Media Fund, which replaces the Multimedia Fund. Financial support for the new media industry is increased from $6 million to $9 million per year (now at $14 million).

Denys Arcand’s Les Invasions barbares, financial supported by Telefilm Canada, (The Barbarian Invasions) takes home Canada’s first-ever Oscar® for Best Foreign Language Film.

New collaboration with the Canadian Television Fund and renewed funding of $100 million for television is announced by the Minister of Canadian Heritage. Under the terms of the agreement, the Board of the Canadian Television Fund is responsible for governance of all programs. Telefilm Canada is responsible for the administration and the delivery of the CTF programs. The transition to the new structure, in place since April 2006, is successful and generates administrative savings that are re-injected into the industry.

Telefilm announces a five-year plan entitled From cinemas to cellphones, a solid vision of the future that reiterates the vital importance of Canadian content and the need to take full advantage of digital platforms in order to reach wider audiences.

Telefilm creates the Canada Feature Film Fund Working Groups for the French- and English-language markets. The Corporation also holds the first of a series of industry immersions to foster greater working relationships between stakeholders in the English-language feature film market.

Chairpersons of the Board

Georges-Émile Lapalme
February 1968 to November 1969

Gratien Gélinas
November 1969 to February 1978

Michel Vennat
March 1978 to May 1981

David Silcox
September 1981 to December 1982

Claude Morin
Vice-Chair; chaired Board meetings
January to March 1983

Ed Prévost
April 1983 to June 1986

Jean Sirois
July 1987 to April 1988

Edmund C. Bovey
May 1988 to April 1990
Harvey Corn
Acting Chair
April to June 1990
July 1990 to June 1993

André Provost
Acting Chair
June to July 1993

Robert Dinan
July 1993 to July 1998

Laurier L. LaPierre, O.C.
July 1998 to July 2001

François Macerola
July 2001 to February 2002

Charles Bélanger
February 2002 to February 2007

Felix (Fil) Fraser
Interim Chair
February to October 2007

Michel Roy
October 2007

Executive Directors

Michael Spencer
Acting Secretary
April 1968 to February 1969
Executive Director
March 1969 to April 1978

Michael McCabe
May 1978 to April 1980

Pierre Thibault
Acting Executive Director
April to July 1980

André Lamy
August 1980 to June 1985

Peter Pearson
July 1985 to October 1987

Judith McCann
Acting Executive Director
October to December 1987

Michèle Fortin
Acting Executive Director
December 1987 to May 1988

Pierre DesRoches
June 1988 to June 1994

Peter Katadotis
Acting Executive Director
June 1994 to March 1995

François Macerola
March 1995 to November 1998

Peter Katadotis
Acting Executive Director
November to December 1998

François Macerola
Executive Director
January 1999 to July 2001

Johanne St-Arnauld
Acting Executive Director
July 2001 to January 2002

Richard Stursberg
Executive Director
January 2002 to July 2004

Carolle Brabant
Acting Executive Director
July 2004 to January 2005

Wayne Clarkson
Executive Director
January 2005 to January 2010

Carolle Brabant
Executive Director
March 2010