Skip Navigation Links

Changes to eligibility criteria for the selection of a Canadian film for the Academy Award for Best International Feature Film

25 July 2019

Toronto/Montréal, July 25, 2019 – Telefilm Canada has updated the eligibility criteria for films submitted to represent Canada in the race for the Best International Feature Film (formerly Best Foreign Language Film) category at the 2020 Oscars.

The goal of these changes is to ensure that the Selection Committee puts forth the strongest possible contender in this highly-competitive field.


  • A film may be submitted for the selection process only once
  • The film must have been selected by one of the eligible film festivals (list below) or
  • The film must be represented by an American sales agent/distributor or an international sales agent


  • Berlin International Film Festival
  • Cannes Film Festival
  • Sundance Film Festival
  • Venice Film Festival
  • Toronto International Film Festival
  • Busan International Film Festival
  • Karlovy Vary International Film Festival
  • Locarno International Film Festival
  • Rotterdam International Film Festival
  • San Sebastian Film Festival
  • Telluride Film Festival
  • South By Southwest Festival
  • Tribeca Film Festival