Telefilm Canada unveils its promotional and business development activities for the Cannes Film Festival

Montréal, May 4, 2011 – Telefilm Canada is pleased to announce its promotional and business development activities for the Cannes Film Festival, which will be held from May 11 to 22, 2011.

The Canadian films selected for the Festival are proof that our country is home to talented new filmmakers. Two short films will be presented as part of the Official Selection: Nicolas Roy’s Ce n’est rien in Official Competition, and Jefferson Moneo’s Big Muddy, in the Cinéfondation. In addition, Isabelle Lavigne and Stéphane Thibault’s documentary At Night, They Dance (La Nuit, elles dansent) will be screened during the Directors’ Fortnight.


As part of Perspective Canada, a brand new initiative, Not Short on Talent, will put emerging Canadian talent in the spotlight. A program initiated by Telefilm Canada and conceived by Danny Lennon, an internationally reputed programmer, 15 short films from all regions of Canada will be shown. The program, which will be screened once at the Cannes Film Market, is 109 minutes long and is comprised of the following short films:

  • CE N’EST RIEN by Nicolas Roy (Quebec), Voyous Films

  • DÉBOIRES by Délia Gunn (Algonquin Community of Quebec), Wapikoni Mobile

  • L’ARBRE AU COEUR QUI BAT by Alexandre Desjardins (Quebec), UQAM’s Medias School

  • MUYBRIDGE’S STRINGS by Koji Yamamura (Canada-Japan), NFB, NHK, Polygon

  • RUSTED PYRE by Laurence Cohen (Alberta),Year of the Skunk Productions

  • OFF ROUTE 2 by Amanda Dawn Christie (New Brunswick), Magnetic Mountain Productions

  • OPASATICA by Éric Morin (Quebec)

  • WILD LIFE by Amanda Forbis and Wendy Tilby (Alberta), National Film Board (NFB)

  • And a collection of seven films by seven directors: SEVEN SINS, Amythos Media, commissioned by Bravo!FACT with the support of Bell Media

    1. ENVY by Bruce McDonald (Ontario)

    2. GLUTTONY by Ann Marie Fleming (British Columbia)

    3. GREED by Jamie Travis (originally from British Columbia, now living in Ontario)

    4. LUST by Anita Doiron (British Columbia)

    5. PRIDE by Joe Cobden (originally from Nova Scotia, now living in Quebec)

    6. SLOTH by Alethea Arnaquq-Baril  (Nunavut)

    7. WRATH by Larry Weinstein (Ontario)

At the same time, as part of the Cannes Film Market, international distributors will be able to attend the screening of the following seven feature films:


Jonathan Sobol

Production: Darius Films

Distribution: Sierra/Affinity



Stéphane Lafleur

Production: micro_scope

Distribution: eOne Films International



Richard Roy

Production: Solofilms

Distribution: eOne Films International



Daniel Roby

Production: Caramel Films

Distribution: eOne Films International



Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie

Production: Metafilms

Distribution: Funfilm Distribution



Sébastien Pilote

Production: ACPAV

Distribution: eOne Films International


Louis Bélanger

Production: Aetios Productions, Cinémaginaire

Distribution: Funfilm Distribution



This year will clearly be an exceptional one at the Canada Pavilion. In total, 70 companies have decided to attend under the Canadian banner, and several networking events have been scheduled to foster business development with several foreign partners. The program includes various events to help forge business links, in particular with China and India, whose contribution to Canadian society is being celebrated this year as part of The Year of India in Canada. A business dinner with our long-standing partners, namely the United Kingdom, Australia and Denmark, is also planned.

Lastly, Telefilm has launched a microsite to promote Canadian talent and productions. Visit

The Canada Pavilion is a Telefilm Canada initiative in partnership with:

Principal partner:

Ontario Media Development Corporation


Major partners:

British Columbia Film & Media

Manitoba Film & Music

Associate partners:

Film Nova Scotia

SaskFilm and Video Development Corporation

Newfoundland & Labrador Film Development Corporation



Canadian Media Production Association

Financial sponsor:

National Bank of Canada