Skip Navigation Links

Karlovy Vary International Film Festival: Three Canadian films win over audiences and critics and take home four awards

11 July 2011

Sunflower Hour, from director Aaron Houston, wins Czech Television’s Independent Camera Award; Roméo Onze, from Ivan Grbovic, receives a Special Mention in the Ecumenical Jury Award; and Collaborator, co-produced by Luca Matrundola, takes home the Best Actor Award (David Morse) and International Federation of Film Critics’ (FIPRESCI) prize

Montreal, July 11, 2011 – Telefilm Canada warmly congratulates the Canadian winners at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival. Vancouver director of Sunflower Hour, Aaron Houston, received the Czech Television’s Independent Camera Award during the official ceremony that was broadcast live, while Roméo Onze from Montreal filmmaker Ivan Grbovic was honoured with a Special Mention from the Ecumenical Jury. The Best Actor Award and International Federation of Film Critics’ (FIPRESCI) prize were won by the Canada-US co-venture Collaborator, a first film directed by American Martin Donovan and co-produced by Torontonian Luca Matrundola from DViant Films.

Telefilm Canada provided financial support to Sunflower Hour and Roméo Onze through the Canada Feature Film Fund.

The final results of this year’s Audience Award competition, run by the national daily newspaper Právo, count three Canadian titles in the top ten: Incendies (no. 3), Collaborator (no. 4) and Sunflower Hour (no. 8). The Festival screened 199 films and attracted an audience of over 121,000.

“The fact that films from British Columbia, Ontario and Quebec won so many awards from the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival attests to the quality and diversity of Canadian audiovisual production,” said Carolle Brabant, Executive Director of Telefilm Canada, in attendance at the Festival. “In collaboration with the Canadian Embassy in the Czech Republic, Telefilm was delighted to participate in the promotion of Canadian cinema during a festival that provides international recognition to our emerging filmmakers.”

“I accept the prize on behalf of Ivan Grbovic and Sara Mishara and we are moved by this prize and especially happy for actor Ali Ammar who has touched us all from the very first time we met him,” said Paul Barbeau, producer of the film Roméo Onze.

“Honestly, we were honoured just to be invited to Karlovy Vary with our little film, so to have won the Independent Camera Award really took us by surprise,” said Aaron Houston. “The Festival was an amazing experience for us and we are really grateful to everyone involved. Karlovy Vary and the people who work there were so much fun that I can’t wait to go back.”

“DViant Films and Executive Producer Ted Hope wish to congratulate Martin Donovan and David Morse on their respective awards at the 46th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival,” said Luca Matrundola, Canadian co-producer of the film Collaborator. “These very special honours only confirm our belief that Collaborator is destined for future critical and popular acclaim.”

Earlier this week, the Festival held a tribute to Denis Villeneuve, with the filmmaker himself in attendance. Denis Villeneuve first attracted attention at the Festival in 1997.

The Karlovy Vary International Film Festival
Debuting in 1946, the Karlovy Vary International Festival is held in the Czech Republic. Today, it is one of the biggest film festivals in Europe. It is open to the public and welcomes thousands of young moviegoers each year.

About Telefilm Canada
Telefilm Canada is a federal cultural agency dedicated to developing and promoting the Canadian audiovisual industry. Telefilm provides financial support to the private sector to create distinctively Canadian productions that appeal to domestic and international audiences. Telefilm also administers the Canada Media Fund’s programs. Visit


For more information:
Douglas Chow, Manager, External Communications
Telefilm Canada
(514) 283-6363, ext. 2225